Between Umami and MSG

20150427_200558Is the meaning of the word Umami and in its connection with MSG being used correctly?  American chefs have started to use the word “Umami” for few years and now it is getting trendy. This has confused me. Here is an article about Umami & MSG. I attended at a lecture last week presented by the one of the largest companies that produces Umami spice (MSG). I was a generation who grew up with MSG. It has been used small portions in food like other spices. We consumed it occasionally in home meals or while dining out. I would prefer not to use MSG since I have have gained more knowledge. However, I am more fearful of sodas which has tremendous amount of sugar and has no GMO labeling available.

 

 

Leave a Reply

