preserving and spreading the beauty

© EunYoung Sebazco
20140709_220832

I received a large package from Japan. It is from my friend Kazue Sakai. What a beautiful gift! She is passing on her gorgeous Kimono. Words cannot describe the beauty and amazement to receive such a generous gift. In her note, she stated her reward is that I am a part of preserving and spreading the beauty of the Japanese culture and the Kimono around the world. I promise her that I will do my best to honor her wishes.

I admire a lot of people, but at the top is her along with my mother. She is a Japanese Landscape Architect who was only few female Landscape Architect in her generation. She has been such a very important person in my life. She taught me the way to find a deep philosophy within Landscape Architecture to devote myself to implement what I had learned into society. She also has shared and taught Japanese culture to me since I first met her in the Spring of 1993. I had a lot of amazing memories with her when I was in Japan and our journal continues even though we are 6,737miles away apart.

Her home and office is located in Tokyo, but she also owns a tea house in Iwakuni, Yamaguchi Prefecture where is her hometown. http://www.tanso-an.jp/index1.html  If you are near, please check out her tea house “露蓮(はちすのつゆ)”.

I can’t wait to try on the Kimono, soon!

Leave a Reply

